January 5, 2021

Unapproved minutes

Union County Commissioners

The Union County Board of Commissioners met in regular session on January 5, 2021, at the Courthouse in Elk Point, SD at 8:30 a.m.

Members present were Dailey, Headid, Joffer, Kimmel and Ustad.

2021 Organizational Meeting

Motion by Headid, second by Dailey to nominate Milton Ustad for chairman of Union County Commissioners. Carried.

Motion by Dailey, second by Kimmel to nominate Rich Headid for Vice Chairman. Carried.

Motion by Dailey second by Joffer to approve the following: Depositories for Union County: First Dakota National Bank, Liberty Bank, Premier Bank, First Savings Bank, 1st Financial Bank, Central Banks, Security National Bank, Pioneer Bank and SD Public Fund Investment (FIT). Legal newspapers for Union County: Leader Courier, Alcester Union & Hudsonite, Beresford Republic and Dakota Dunes North Sioux City Times. Members of the sick leave bank committee: Kevin Joffer (commissioner); Tracy Smith (sheriff) Cristy Harkness (highway) and Scott Sexton (courthouse). Carried.

Motion by Dailey second by Joffer to accept the following appointments.

Appoint Union County Treasurer Myron Hertel as the County Investment officer. Carried.

Motion by Headid, second by Dailey to accept the following appointments. Appoint Commissioners Ustad and Dailey as Commissioner Representatives to SECOG.

Appoint Commissioners Joffer and Dailey as Commissioner Representatives on the Fair Board.

Appoint Commissioners Kimmel and Headid and Zoning Director Dennis Henze as the American Disabilities Act Coordinators.

Appoint Headid and Kimmel as commissioner representatives to the South Dakota Housing Authority.

Appoint Commissioners Joffer and Headid to the Juvenile Detention Authority. Carried. Motion by Joffer, second by Dailey to approve the following appointment.

Approve Jerry Buum as the Highway Superintendent. Carried.

Motion by Headid, second by Kimmel to approve the following appointments: Approve the following members of the Weed Board: Milton Ustad, Michael Dailey, Dennis Henze, Randy Ronning, Richard Green, Duane Diez and Les Reifke.

Approve Headid and Dailey as the commissioner representatives to the Planning and Zoning Board.

Approve Headid and Joffer for LEPC Commissioner Representatives.

Approve Dailey and Kimmel for the MPO commissioner representatives.

Approve Joffer and Ustad for the commissioner representatives on the Sioux Valley Regional Railroad Authority. Carried.

Motion by Headid, second by Dailey to approve the following appointments.

Approve county burial/cremation expense to remain at \$2,000.

Approve blood draws remain at \$80.

Approve coroner fee \$116. per view of body and mileage to be paid the same as other county officials.

Approve the commission meetings remain the same –held every other Tuesday at 8:30 a.m. unless otherwise stated. Carried.

Motion by Headid, second by Kimmel to approve the following appointments. Carried. Approve the following fair board members: Michael Dailey, Kevin Joffer, Dan Wiberg,

Bruce Ericson, Jennifer Beermann, Paulette Vanderham, Trisha Rasmussen, John Gates, Tom Noll, Darla Reppe-(City of Alcester), Pat Jurrens-(Alcester Chamber of Commerce), Gene Ericson and Rachel O'Kane.

Motion by Headid, second by Dailey to approve the following . Carried.

Approve Election Board -Allowance for election precinct workers @ \$180 per day with an additional \$25 for the acting superintendent. Allowance for attending election school @ \$25.

Approve the following polling places.

Precinct 1	Boundaries and entities A Portion of Alcester Twp east of 478 th Avenue Virginia Twp. & Sioux Valley Twp.	Location Alcester City Hall (500 Dakota St.)
2	Alcester City	Alcester City Hall (500 Dakota St.)
3	Elk Point City Ward 1 & Ward 3 Richland Township A portion of Elk Point Township east of South Dakota Highway 11/476 th Avenue and northwest of the Dakota and Iowa Railroad	Union County Courthouse (209 E Main- Elk Point)
4	Big Springs Twp, Brule Twp & Spink Twp	Big Springs Baptist Church (30705 480 th Ave)
5	Beresford City Ward 1 A portion of Alcester Twp. west of 478 th Avenue Prairie Twp. & Emmet Twp.	Beresford School Multi-Purpose Room South Campus (301 W. Maple St.)
6	Beresford City Wards 2 & 3	Beresford School Multi-Purpose Room South Campus (301 W. Maple St.)
7	Jefferson Township & a portion of Big Sioux that lies north of 334 th Street and west of 484 th Avenue	St. Peter's Community Center (400 Main-Jefferson)
8	Elk Point City Ward 2 and the portion of Elk Point Township that lies northeast of County Road 1B and southeast of the Dakota and Iowa Railroad; and all of that part of the County within Elk Point Township south and southeast of the City of Elk Point between 476 th Avenue and County Road 1B and all of that part of the County within Elk Point Township west SD Highway 11/476 th Avenue outside the City of Elk Point	Union County Courthouse (209 East Main-Elk Point)
9	Civil Bend Township & Jefferson City	St. Peter's Community Center (400 Main-Jefferson)
10	North Sioux City Ward 1 & Ward 2	North Sioux City Community Center-Fire Hall (205 Sodrac Dr.)
11	North Sioux City Ward 3 and Ward 4 A portion of Big Sioux Township south of 334 th Street and west and northwest of Sunset Drive; all of that part of the County within Big Sioux Township east of 484 th Avenue and north of Flurie Road; all of that part of the County within Big Sioux Township west and north of Shay Road and the extension of Shay Road to the Big Sioux River	North Sioux City Community Center-Fire Hall (205 Sodrac Dr.)
12	Dakota Dunes west of the Dakota Dunes Boulevard and a portion of Big Sioux Twp that shall include all of that part of the County within Big Sioux Township south of Flurie Road; all of that part of the County south and east of Shay Road and the extension of Shay Road to the Big Sioux River; all of that part of the County south and east of Sunset Drive	St. Teresa of Calcutta (995 Sioux Point Road)
13	Dakota Dunes east of the Dakota Dunes Blvd.	Holy Cross Lutheran Church (149 Bison Trail)

Committees

Chairman Ustad reviewed the following committees: Employees-Kimmel and Joffer; County Vehicle maintenance- Joffer; Building- Joffer and Dailey; E.M.A- Kimmel and Joffer.

Agenda and Minutes approval

Motion by Dailey, second by Joffer to approve the agenda. Carried.

Motion by Joffer, second by Dailey to approve the minutes from December 29, 2020. Carried.

Department Head Report

Public Building Supt. Sexton, Janet Lingle Extension/Fair/ Weed and EMA Director Minihan presented their monthly reports.

Recess

Chairman declared a recess from 9:40 to 9:53.

<u>Highway</u>

Hwy. Supt. Buum met with the board to discuss various matters.

Alternative HRD

Tammy Loos met with the board on various matters.

Motion by Kimmel, second by Joffer to extend the COVID 19 pay till March 31, 2021. Carried.

Executive Session

Motion by Headid, second by Dailey to move into executive at 10:22 a.m. to discuss personnel matters per SDCL 1-25-2. Carried. Chairman declared the board out of executive session at 10:52 a.m.

Old Business

Commissioners instructed Assessor Steckelberg to have an explanation on new property valuations to all the legal newspapers by January 15, 2021 at 5:00 p.m. to be published on January 21, 2021.

<u>Adjournment</u>

Motion by Kimmel, second by Joffer to adjourn at 11:04 a.m. until January 14, 2020. Carried.an

ATTEST:

Jackie Sieverding, Auditor Union County Milton Ustad, Chairman Union County Board of Commissioners

Published once at the total approximate cost of_____.