January 2, 2024 Unapproved Minutes Union County Commissioners

The Union County Board of Commissioners met in regular session on January 2, 2024, at the Courthouse in Elk Point, SD at 8:30 a.m.

Members present were Dailey, Headid, Joffer, Kimmel and Ustad.

2024 Organizational Meeting

Motion by Headid, second by Dailey to nominate Milton Ustad as chairman of the Union County Commissioners. Kimmel made a motion for nominations to cease, second by Joffer.

Motion passed to elect Milton Ustad as Chairman of the Union County Commissioners. Carried.

Motion by Joffer, second by Kimmel to nominate Rich Headid as Vice Chairman of the Union County Commissioners. Kimmel made a motion for nominations to cease, second by Joffer.

Motion passed to elect Rich Headid as Vice Chairman of the Union County Commissioners. Carried.

Motion by Headid, second by Dailey to approve the following: Depositories for Union County: First Dakota National Bank, Liberty National Bank, Premier Bank, First Savings Bank, 1st Financial Bank, Central Bank, Security National Bank, Pioneer Bank and SD Public Fund Investment (FIT). Legal newspapers for Union County: Leader Courier, Beresford Republic and Dakota Dunes North Sioux City Times. Members of the sick leave bank committee: Kevin Joffer (commissioner); Tracy Smith (sheriff) Cristy Harkness (highway) and Scott Sexton (courthouse). Carried.

Motion by Dailey, second by Joffer to accept the following appointments.

Appoint Union County Treasurer Myron Hertel as the County Investment officer.

Carried.

Appoint Jerry Buum as the Union County Highway Superintendent.

Appoint Sherri Bousquet as the Union County Assessor.

Appoint Lisa Schenzel as the Union County Veteran's Officer.

Motion by Headid, second by Joffer, to accept the following appointments. Carried. Appoint Commissioners Ustad and Dailey as Commissioner Representatives to SECOG. Appoint Commissioners Joffer and Dailey as Commissioner Representatives on the Fair Board.

Appoint Commissioners Ustad and Dailey as Commissioner Representatives on the Weed Board.

Appoint Commissioners Kimmel and Headid and Zoning Director Dennis Henze as the American Disabilities Act Coordinators.

Appoint Headid and Kimmel as commissioner representatives to the South Dakota Housing Authority.

Appoint Commissioners Joffer and Headid to the Juvenile Detention Authority.

Motion by Dailey, second by Headid to approve the following appointments. Carried. Approve the following members of the Weed Board: Milton Ustad, Michael Dailey, Benny Quam, Randy Ronning, Richard Green, Duane Diez and Bob Ballard.

Approve Headid and Dailey as the commissioner representatives to the Planning and Zoning Board.

Approve Headid and Joffer for LEPC Commissioner Representatives.

Approve Dailey and Kimmel for the MPO commissioner representatives.

Motion by Joffer, second by Kimmel to approve the following appointments. Carried. Approve county burial/cremation expense to remain at \$2,000.

Approve blood draws remain at \$80.

Approve coroner fee \$116.00 per view of body and mileage to be paid the same as other county officials.

Approve the commission meetings remain the same –held every other Tuesday at 8:30 a.m. unless otherwise stated.

Motion by Joffer, second by Dailey to approve the following appointments. Carried.

Approve the following fair board members: Michael Dailey, Kevin Joffer, Dave Smith, Sadie Jensen, Jennifer Beermann, Paulette Vanderham, John Gates, Tom Noll, Darla Reppe-(City Alcester), Gene Ericson, Brigita Rasmussen and Ann Soenen.

Motion by Kimmel, second by Joffer to approve the following. Carried. Approve Election Board -Allowance for election precinct workers @ \$240 per day with an additional \$50 for the acting superintendent. Allowance for attending election school @ \$50 and post audit election workers @ \$25.00 per hour plus mileage.

Motion by Joffer, second by Dailey to approve the following polling places. Carried.

Precinct 1	Boundaries and entities Big Springs Twp, Sioux Valley Twp, Virginia Twp and Alcester Twp East of Hwy 11	<u>Location</u> Alcester City Hall (500 Dakota St.)
2	Alcester City	Alcester City Hall (500 Dakota St.)
3	Elk Point City, Richland Twp and the portion of Elk Point Twp East of Hwy 11 and East of I-29	Union County Courthouse (209 E Main- Elk Point)
4	Beresford City Ward 1, Emmet Twp, Prairie Twp and Alcester Twp West of Hwy 11	Beresford High School (301 W Maple St)
5	Beresford City Wards 2 & 3	Beresford High School (301 W Maple St)
6	Jefferson Twp and a portion of Big Sioux Twp that lies north of 334 St and West of 484th Ave (this includes Sandy Mead, Riverland and West of North and South Shay Road, West of the Dakota Dunes Proper)	St Peters Community Center (400 Main-Jefferson)
7	Brule Twp, Spink Twp and the portion of Elk Point Twp West of Hwy 11 and West of I-29	Union County Courthouse (209 East Main-Elk Point)
8	Civil Bend Twp and Jefferson City	St Peters Community Center (400 Main-Jefferson)
9	North Sioux City Ward 1 and Ward 2	North Sioux City Community Center-Fire Hall (205 Sodrac Dr.)
10	North Sioux City Ward 3 & Ward 4 and the portion of Big Sioux Twp, East of I-29 and south of NSC Limits and the portion of Dakota Dunes that consists of the Wellington Apts.	North Sioux City Community Center-Fire Hall (205 Sodrac Dr.)
11	Dakota Dunes west of the Dakota Dunes Boulevard and East and South of N Shay Rd and North of Tower Rd and West of I-29 and a portion of Dakota Dunes South of Courtyard Dr, West of Courtyard Dr and East of Corporate limits of Dakota Dunes	St. Teresa of Calcutta (995 Sioux Point Road)

Committees

Chairman Ustad reviewed the following committees: Employees-Kimmel and Joffer; County Vehicle maintenance- Joffer; Building- Joffer and Dailey; E.M.A- Kimmel and Joffer.

Agenda and Minutes approval

Motion by Headid, second by Dailey to approve the agenda. Carried. Motion by Kimmel, second by Joffer to approve the minutes from December 27, 2023. Carried.

Adjournment

, 2024.

Motion by Kimmel, second by Heach Carried.	adid to adjourn at 8:45 a.m. until January 09
ATTEST: Jackie Sieverding, Auditor Traci Torrez, Deputy Auditor Union County	Milton Ustad, Chairman Union County Board of Commissioners
Published once at the total approximate co	ost of