May 20, 2019

Screen shot 2011-03-08 at 10.21.31 AMThe Union County Commissioners will hold a special meeting Monday, April 8th at 8:30 A.M. at the courthouse to address road inspections.

The Board of Equalization will meet Tuesday, April 9th beginning at 11 A.M. in the commissioner’s room at the courthouse.

The Union County Courthouse will be closed Friday, April 19th, and Monday, April 22nd for Easter

 Union County, created in 1862, organized in 1862, was originally named Cole County for Austin Cole, who was a member of the first Territorial Legislature. Two years later, the boundaries were rearranged and the name changed to Union because of sentiment for the Union side of the civil war. The county seat is located in Elk Point, and it also includes the communities of Alcester, Beresford, Dakota Dunes, Jefferson,  & North Sioux City.   We have a population of just under 15,000 people.  The county is bordered by Iowa and the Big Sioux River on it’s Eastern side & Nebraska and the Missouri River on it’s Southern side.  Interstate 29 runs through the county from North to South.